Lively Tales About Dead Teams

Archive for the ‘One-Year Wonders’ tag

2009 New York Sentinels


New York SentinelsUnited Football League (2009)

Born: 2009 – UFL founding franchise
Moved: February 16, 2010 (Hartford Colonials)


Team Colors:

Owner: Bill Mayer

UFL Champions: None


An especially flaccid entry in the ill-conceived United Football League (2009-2012).  The New York Sentinels went o-6 in their only season of competition and played only one contest in the state of New York during their brief lifespan.

The Sentinels were coached by former New York Jets defensive coordinator Ted Cotrell. The team’s biggest name was 4-time NFL All-Pro defensive end Simeon Rice.  The team’s best name was leading receiver Craphonso Thorpe.

The UFL played a short 6-game schedule during their 2009 debut season. For whatever reason, the league and the Sentinels chose/were forced to schedule each of the team’s games in a different state. The Sentinel’s debut at Giants Stadium on October 29, 2009 drew announced crowd of 10,818 in 76,000-seat Giants Stadium.  Game #2 on the campus of Hofstra University on Long Island drew 4,392.  The Sentinels’ final “home” game was at Rentschler Field in Hartford, Connecticut before 5,201.

The Sentinels moved permanently to Hartford for the UFL’s second season in 2010 and were re-branded as the Hartford Colonials. The Colonials lasted one season before the franchise folded for good in July 2011. The UFL ran out of money a year later and closed its doors midway through the 2012 season.


==New York Sentinels Programs on Fun While It Lasted==

Season Date Opponent Score Program Other


2009 10/10/2009 @ Florida Tuskers L 35-13 Program



The Sentinels vs. California Redwoods in the team’s lone Giants Stadium appearance. October 29, 2009.



United Football League Programs


1984 Houston Shamrocks

leave a comment

Women's American Basketball Association GuideWomen’s American Basketball Association (1984)

Born: 1984 – WABA founding franchise.
Folded: December 1984

Arena: University of St. Thomas

Team Colors: Kelly Green & White

Owner: Vic Bonner


The Houston Shamrocks were an obscure women’s pro basketball team that played for just two months in the doomed Women’s American Basketball Association in the autumn of 1984. The league was an attempt to capitalize on the spotlight on women’s basketball afforded by the 1984 Los Angeles summer Olympics. But the WABA was poorly organized and desperately under-financed.  Although the USA won the gold medal in women’s basketball, only two members of the American team, Lea Henry and Pam McGee, signed to play in the WABA that fall.

The league was a shambles from the start, with franchises dropping out left and right and checks bouncing higher than the WABA’s official Spalding game balls.  The entire thing came crashing down in early December 1984 after less than two months of play.

The Shamrocks were the weakest entry in the 6-team circuit.  The big name attached to the team was Head Coach Elvin Hayes, the future NBA Hall-of-Famer who retired from the Houston Rockets after the 1983-84 season.  The Shamrocks also managed to sign Lea Henry, one of the few 1984 U.S. Olympians who agreed to play in the league.

When the league folded in December, the Shamrocks languished in last place with a 3-14 record.



1984 Houston Shamrocks Schedule



Women’s American Basketball Association Programs


1994 Las Vegas Posse

leave a comment

Tamarick Vanover Las Vegas PosseCanadian Football League (1994)

Born: July 26, 1993 – CFL expansion franchise.
Folded: April 1995

Stadium: Sam Boyd Stadium

Team Colors:

Owner: Nick Mileti, Glenn Golenberg, Marshall Geller, et al.


Following the demise of the NFL-funded World League of American Football (WLAF) in September 1992, the cash-strapped Canadian Football League set its sights on an infusion of expansion fees from south of the border.  The venerable CFL held steady with the same eight-city Canadian membership from 1954 until 1987, when Montreal dropped from the league.  The remaining seven cities soldiered on into the 1990’s,

Two refugee franchises from the defunct, the Sacramento Surge and the San Antonio Riders, announced their entry into the

Canadian football was a tough sell in the States.  Canadian rules are substantially different, what with 12 v. 12 action, a 110-yard field, unlimited offensive backfield motion before the snap, and 3-down offensive possessions. Most of the cities involved in the CFL’s American adventure had also hosted USFL or WLAF in the recent past.


==Las Vegas Posse Programs on Fun While It Lasted==

Date Opponent Score Program Other


1994 8/6/1994 vs. Baltimore CFL Football Club L 38-33 Program
1994 9/10/1994 vs. Shreveport Pirates W 34-21 Program
1994 10/7/1994 @ Baltimore CFL Football Club L 22-16 Program Roster



The Posse visit the Toronto Argonauts on July 29, 1994.



Giddyap, Posse“, Jack McCallum & Kelli Anderson, Sports Illustrated, September 5, 1994

Canadian Football League Media Guides

Canadian Football League Programs


1979 Las Vegas Seagulls


Las Vegas Seagulls ProgramAmerican Soccer League (1979)

Born: 1978 – ASL expansion franchise.
Folded: Postseason 1979

Stadium: Las Vegas Silver Bowl

Team Colors:


ASL Championships: None


The Las Vegas Seagulls were a 2nd Division pro soccer club that lasted just one season in the American Soccer League in the summer of 1979.

The team was troubled from the start, firing head coach Orlando DiNitto just two games into the 1979 season. The Seagulls’ roster was heavy on Argentinean imports. One of the Argentines, midfielder Raul Carrizo, took over for DiNitto and guided the Gulls through the remainder of a grim campaign as player-coach.  The Seagulls finished in last place in the ASL’s Western Conference with a 7-18-3 record.

The Seagulls went the way of the passenger pigeon at the end of the 1979 season.  Other attempts to establish pro soccer in Vegas during this era met with equally swift deaths.  The Las Vegas Quicksilvers lasted but a single season in the North American Soccer League in 1977.  Like the Seagulls, the Quicksilvers played in the broiling hot Silver Bowl.  The Las Vegas Americans set up shop at the Thomas & Mack Center in the Major Indoor Soccer League in the winter of 1984-85 but went bankrupt after one season.


==Las Vegas Seagulls Programs on Fun While It Lasted==

Season Date Opponent Score Program Other
1979  7/21/1979 @ Los Angeles Skyhawks ?? Program


==In Memoriam==

Seagulls forward Victor Arbelaez remained in Las Vegas and coached at Bishop Gorman high school for 22 seasons. He collapsed and died during a Bishop Gorman practice in October 2007 at age 54. Las Vegas Sun obituary.



American Soccer League Media Guides

American Soccer League Programs


Written by andycrossley

July 15th, 2015 at 3:27 pm

1979-80 Utica Olympics

leave a comment

Utica OlympicsContinental Basketball Association (1979-1980)

Born: 1979 – CBA expansion franchise.
Moved: Postseason 1980 (Atlantic City Hi Rollers)

Arena: Utica Memorial Auditorium

Team Colors:



The Utica Olympics were a short-lived minor league basketball team in upstate New York.  The club existed for just a single season in the winter of 1979-80, competing in the Continental Basketball Association.

The Olympics finished in last place in the CBA’s Southern Division with a 15-31 record.

Professional basketball has never returned to Utica since the Olympics’ demise in 1980.



Continental Basketball Association Media Guides

Continental Basketball Association Programs


Written by andycrossley

July 1st, 2015 at 11:20 pm